top of page

Do good L.A Bagels exist?

Bagels. As a New York native, I (shockingly) love a good bagel. 


That being said, I have some observations about bagels in L.A. And before I rip LA bagels to shreds (don’t get me started on Yeastie Boys), rest assured, I am only going to talk about my positive experiences with bagels and delis alike here in the greater Los Angeles area in this post, because the glass is always half-full. Researchers believe the bagel was actually created from pretzel dough sometime around the 1200s when Germans migrated to Poland. Interestingly, Jewish Poles quickly adopted the new bread from pretzels, put a hole in the middle and dubbed it obwarzanek.


Ever wondered what the first bagel ever (probabably) looked like? Wonder no longer!



You're welcome. Now to the real filling. First of all, I have some recommendations for my lovely readers here in L.A that I want to shine a light on. Belle’s Bagels, located in Highland Park, has some great BECs. Hand rolled, boiled, and baked golden. Started by two LA native dudes, I was pretty surprised at how great these bagels were. Try it out!



Layla’s Bagels, located in Santa Monica, has some great bagels as well. Arden Shore, a food reviewer, says Layla's "isn’t just part of a trend, it’s a lovely little counter service spot with great coffee and outrageously delicious bagels piled high with the freshest produce available. And while you can absolutely order crusty-on-the-outside, cushiony-on-the-inside loosies, you’d be missing out if you didn’t try some of the open-face bagel offerings". Courage Bagels in Silverlake also has a popular fan base, garnering a line down the street each day it opens its doors. Started originally by Arielle Skye with her bicycle loaded with small batches of mouthwatering, aggressively crusty bagels, she embarked on a journey that led her to a bustling spot every Saturday at the locals farmers' market. Her bagels bore a striking resemblance to Montreal-style bagels, which are open-faced sandwiches, generously slathered with cream cheese and adorned with thick slices of ripe tomatoes, or whatever you prefer!


What do you think about L.A bagels? Have you had any of these, or have a suggestion for me?


Let me know! 


- Lily

Recent Posts

See All

5 Comments


Guest
May 01

As a fellow bagel enthusiast, I appreciate your positive approach to exploring the bagel scene in Los Angeles! While New York may hold the crown for classic bagels, it's always exciting to discover hidden gems and unique twists on this beloved treat in other cities.

Your recommendations for Belle’s Bagels, Layla’s Bagels, and Courage Bagels all sound mouthwatering. It's fantastic to hear about locally-owned spots that are passionate about crafting delicious bagels with quality ingredients. I haven't had the pleasure of trying these establishments yet, but they're now at the top of my list for my next visit to LA. I've found that each city puts its own spin on bagels, and while some may argue about authenticity, I believe…

Like

Yoojin Heo
Yoojin Heo
Apr 29

I felt as if I was reading through a post from Infatuation LA. 

It is so interesting to see how something as simple as bagels have such a huge role in community and one’s identity to a country. (example: how you have to be a New York native to really know good bagels or how people from Chicago know good pizzas and how LA natives know good burgers or organic smoothies). I know that a lot of bagel shops are hits or misses and so when reading through your bagel spot suggestions, I added all of them immediately to my extensive collection of my Yelp brunch list and will be visiting sometime soon. 

I saw Owen’s expressive comments on how…


Like

Joanna song
Joanna song
Apr 26

What a fun post! I too am a bagel lover and loved your analysis of different bagel places in LA. Personally, I believe that LA has a “trendy” touch to their bagels, for instance Courage Bagels is unlike any traditional bagel I have ever had before. Don’t get me wrong, it’s really yummy but I also think a lot of these spots are more trendy then actually “good”. Courage for instance takes forever, especially on the weekend. The line goes all the way down the street and takes at least 30 minutes. Although I am a fan, I believe that a huge part of why people think Courage Bagels is good is because of its popularity and the image it…

Like

callie lau
callie lau
Apr 24

I’m not a bagel expert, but I do love a good strawberry cream cheese or smoked salmon bagel! The only amazing bagels I’ve eaten in LA are from Noah’s Bagels, which originated from New York as I’m sure you’re familiar with. Thank you for your recommendations, I will be trying Layla’s Bagels this summer whenever I’m at Santa Monica beach. A friend of mine said something interesting earlier this week in my Music Industry class: “Punks took doughnuts so hippies should take bagels.” She has plans to open a Grateful Dead-themed bagel store. I find regional/cultural delicacies and evolving food identities fascinating and absolutely adorable :')

Edited
Like

Owen W.Braly
Owen W.Braly
Apr 24

Ah, a fellow New Yorker -- at last! Unfortunately I have not yet been to Layla's or Courage Bagels. Having said that (and excluding those two spots from the following statement)... LA BAGELS F'ING SUCK. Happy to finally find someone who understands... not really sure where to go from here in this comment so I'm gonna do my best to lengthen it out. At the end of the end of the end of the end of the end of the..... ok, that's enough words.


What I meant to say was this: at the end of the day, it's in the water. Sorry LA, try harder!

Like
bottom of page